Search »

List of holidays for 2015

By Louis Bacani

image

MANILA, Philippines  — Few more months before the year ends, President Benigno Aquino III has declared the national holidays to be observed in 2015.

Malacañang on Wednesday released a copy of Proclamation No. 831, which declares 18 holidays with determined dates.

The proclamation was approved on July 17.

Among those declared as holidays is the Chinese New Year to be celebrated on February 19. The President said in the proclamation that the Chinese New Year is "one of the most revered and festive events" celebrated not only in China but also in the Philippines.

"The joint celebration is a manifestation of our solidarity with our Chinese-Filipino brethren who have been part of our lives in many respects as a country and as a people; 19 February 2015 may be declared as a special (non-working) day without detriment to public interest," Aquino said.

The President also said that it is fitting to declare January 2 and December 24 as additional special non-working days to "to foster closer family ties and enable our countrymen to observe Christmas more meaningfully."

The proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of Eid'l Fitr and Eidul Adha shall be issued after their dates have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar.

Based on the list of declared holidays for 2015, there would be at least eight long weekends next year.

REGULAR HOLIDAYS    
New Year’s Day January 1 Thursday
Maundy Thursday April 2 Thursday
Good Friday April 3 Friday
Araw ng Kagitingan April 9 Thursday
Labor Day May 1 Friday
Independence Day  June 12 Friday
National Heroes Day  August 31 Monday
Bonifacio Day November 30 Monday
Christmas Day December 25 Friday
Rizal Day  December 30 Wednesday
     
SPECIAL NON-WORKING HOLIDAYS    
Chinese New Year February 19 Thursday
Black Saturday April 4 Saturday
Ninoy Aquino Day August 21 Friday
All Saints' Day November 1 Sunday
Additional special non-working day January 2 Friday
Additional special non-working day December 24 Thursday
Last Day of the Year December 31 Thursday
     
SPECIAL HOLIDAY (for all schools)    
EDSA Revolution Anniversary February 25 Wednesday

 

comments powered by Disqus

mofuse.com